I love summer, don’t you? One of my favourite things about the summer is going on holiday and finally having more time to finally read all day everyday on holiday. It’s the perfect time to get through that long book that’s scared you all year or just relax after a stressful few months in the sun and your favourite author. I’m going on a few trips this summer and these are the books I’m planning on devouring.

Holiday Reads 1

Once And For All – Sarah Dessen

There is always that author that feels a little bit like home when you go back to one of their books. For me, that is Sarah Dessen and I was so delighted to hear that she was bringing out Once And For All this summer. I love her summery settings, her great characters and writing that is witty and makes the best easy read in the sunshine. I’d also recommend The Truth About Forever and Just Listen.

IMG_5701The Mandibles – Lionel Shriver

When I go on holiday, it is the perfect time to read without having to fit reading in amongst working and other errands. The ideal book for these long periods of sitting and relaxing in the sun or for a plane or car journey is a longish one to get stuck into. I’ve wanted to read The Mandibles for about a year now since I saw it in hardback and heard about it in Rosianna Halse Rojas’ video.

The novel is set in 2029 and the dollar is practically worthless. The rich Mandible family cannot count on their inheritance any longer and their normal life existence disintegrates and changes completely.Β I’m so looking forward to getting stuck into this book and interested to see where this book goes.

IMG_5700

Stars Above – Marissa Meyer

I finished the epic final book in the Lunar Chronicles, Winter, last summer within three days and bought Stars Above and Fairest (two mini novels set in the same world) pretty soon after. I love this series and I think it’s a great read for sci-fi and dystopian fans as it has a little bit of everything within this interesting, magical and intriguing world.

The Power – Naomi Alderman

I successfully predicted from the longlist that The Power would win the Bailey’s Women Prize for Fiction, especially with Margaret Atwood’s backing behind it. The Power tells the story of what happens when young women are able to shoot electricity from their fingertips and cause the gender balance within society to shift.

This sounds like such an interesting and potentially powerful concept. I’ve purposefully not found out much about its plot so I’m interested to see how it is structured and the way the narrative unfolds throughout this book. I’m also reading The Handmaid’s Tale at the moment, so I’m interested to see how this compares also.

 

Leave a Reply

