Originally posted on my previous blog – this post has been edited for spelling mistakes/clarity

Nick and Norah's Infinite PlaylistThe night begins when Nick asks Norah to be his five minute girlfriend to avoid his ex, who has just walked in to see his band play with her new guy. After one kiss, Nick and Norah are off on an adventure across New York City with the confusion, excitement and anticipation of a first date.

After reading and loving Levithan and Cohn’s other novel, Dash and Lily’s Book of DaresI wanted to read their other more famous novel. Initially, I thought I wasn’t going to make it through. The first few chapters did not hook me at all and I found it hard to get into this novel unlike reading Dash and Lily. 

However, I did get into it eventually and loved it. This is a book that brings together the beauty of being young and living in a city into a story. Nick and Norah are great characters, with a host of other brilliant characters in the background, similar to my thoughts in Dash and Lily. I liked Norah’s powerful lead as well as laughing at her sarcasm. She’s had some bad experiences with boys in the past and through this, she become cynical and afraid almost I guess. I also loved Nick, he is a genuine, honest character and I liked to see his reactions of the events they go through.

I’ve seen a lot of negative reviews for this book and I can understand why some people don’t like this book. But I feel the reason for that is all down to this book’s level of originality. The voices of Nick and Norah are very individual and at times I felt it was trying to be TOO quirky and original. I found this particularly evident in Norah’s parts as she has an interesting, cynical, sarcastic voice that can be quite hard to read at some points and ultimately, it can feel like these parts are trying too hard to seem angsty. I enjoyed the plot of this book and Nick and Norah’s relationship, however, the time scale – over one night – felt incredibly unrealistic in this romance, unlike Dash and Lily.

This book is modern, current and has an element of true voice for teenagers. It’s quirky, original and something I will remember for a long time afterwards. Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist is a book that brings together the spirit of being young through its language, its humour and its setting running around a city, enjoying music. This isn’t the best book I’ve ever read but I still really enjoyed it – perfect for any music fans out there.

I give it a 3.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

