Originally posted on my previous blog – this review has been edited for spelling mistakes/clarity

Audrey is just an ordinary teenager trying to survive high school. When she breaks up with her self-centred boyfriend, she doesn’t realise that her life will change after Evan, the now ex, shouts ‘Audrey, Wait!’ as she leaves him for a single life. The next day, she hears her ex’s new song with his band, The Do-Gooders which is about their break up. Soon, it goes into the charts and around the world and Audrey starts to get paparazzi following her around and not being able to leave the house without a picture being taken. Meanwhile, she has to juggle the creeping love for one of her friends, seeing her best friend Victoria, the bitchiness and a negative picture being put in the papers. It’s a dream come true, right?

In a nutshell, this book examines sudden fame in the media and ultimately, the effect of truly being famous. The idea is really original and I know there aren’t many books out there like this one. One thing I loved about this is the writing. I loved how it felt like Audrey herself was telling me the story, making me feel so engrossed and into the story. Robin Benway is such a good writer in that aspect and I am actually looking forward to finding some other stuff by her.

Now the characters. Audrey. I love her! She has such a great sense of humour and I loved her sarcasm. Audrey is a great character, she’s interesting and funny and well…comes out and does some hilarious things. The characters in general are so well thought out and so individual. With the added fact, it’s in first person, you start to feel like you are Audrey and these are your friends – I liked that.

Sometimes I read some books and I just fall in love with the writing and the characters and overall, the book. The book did take a while to get going, but suddenly takes a different turn and had me quickly hooked.
I loved this book. It was enjoyable and interesting and something totally different. There are mixed views out there on this one but this is mine. This book will make you laugh, smile, cry, wince and all the other emotions you can think in books. And the moral of the story? Don’t go out with a musician. Full Stop.

I give it a 5 out of 5 – I enjoy this much more than I thought.

Leave a Reply

